MCU Phase Four Rescheduled

The Marvel Cinematic Universe has changed drastically in the last 24 hours. Marvel Studios announced that Phase 4 would be altered amidst the COVID-19 Pandemic. This phase was slated to begin with Black Widow, which has been postponed to ensure the curve of COVID-19. The announcement came from virtual streams with the San Diego Comic-Con and D23 Expo. It was first revealed which films would be released throughout the 2020-21 Fiscal Years. Fans were eagerly surprised to learn that Black Panther Two would be released for the 2022 Spring Season, with two other films slated for the summer months.

All film studios operating in Hollywood have adjusted their respective schedules amidst the coronavirus. Productions on various television shows and films have been postponed indefinitely until the pandemic period has concluded. Entertainment analysts anticipate that superhero franchises like the DC Extended Universe will use Marvel’s delayed release dates to their advantage. This would be accomplished by releasing notable sequels like Aquaman Two, Shazam Two, Black Adam or Batman. There hasn’t been any confirmation from DC on these speculative strategies.

The Films

We’ve compiled the several films for the MCUs Phase Four and their latest release dates. It should be noted that further complications with COVID-19 could force these delays even further.

  • Black Widow – November 2020
  • Doctor Strange 2 – Fall 2021
  • The Eternals – February 2021
  • Shang Chi & The Legend of Ten Rings – May 2021
  • Black Panther 2 – Spring 2022
  • Thor 4: Love & Thunder – Summer 2022
  • Captain Marvel 2 – Summer 2022

Phase Four

Fans eagerly are awaiting the start of the MCU’s 4th phase, as it’ll see the fallout from Avengers: Endgame. This was the most significant moment in their franchise’s history, with Tony Stark sacrificing his life to ensure the protection of universal life. Films like Doctor Strange Two and Thor Four are expected to delve into the emotional burdens surrounding the events of Endgame. It’s known that Thor Four will see the implementation of “Lady Thor”, which follows after Odin’s Son loses his capabilities to wield the mighty hammer. Fans of Chris Hemsworth’s character will see the fallout of his loss during Guardians of the Galaxy 3 during Phase Five.